Karol Gutowski, MD, FACS

BOARD CERTIFIED PLASTIC SURGEON
773-985-3993
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Karol A. Gutowski

Nationally-awarded Chicago plastic surgeon, Dr. Karol Gutowski, strives to be known as one of the top plastic surgeons in the Chicago area. Dr. Gutowski has been named as a "Top Doctor" by numerous publications, including U.S News and World Report. Because of his skill and excellence, Dr. Gutowski provides each patient with the aesthetic look they desire, meeting their enhancement goals. Our customers express to us time and time again how thrilled they are with their results, and we are grateful for every review we receive from our valued patients. We invite you to view what other patients have said about their experiences to assist you in your decision to have cosmetic surgery.

Filter17 Reviews  
Patient Story
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 20, 2015

47 Year Old, Children Grown and Finally Decided to Just Focus on Me!! Loving It!!! - Chicago, IL - I had a tummy tuck, breast lift(no implants) and lipo of the flanks, back and inner thighs! Dr. Grotowski is a very skilled surgeon, very down to earth and professional. He has a very caring and professional staff, Ellen is wonderful and I the procedure went very well. You will be in great hands with this gifted surgeon!! More

Patient Story
ReviewTracker-5168947
Review from C.  |  Source: Citysearch  |  Jan 18, 2011

I first saw this doctor for botox and was very happy with the results. He also referred me to his skin care person for regular facial treatments which after 3 months made my face look fresh. Since then I had an artefill injection and more? More

Patient Story
ReviewScraper-2016-10-31
Review from R.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 30, 2016

Tummy Tuck - Dr Gutowski is the best surgeon ever God bless his hands I had 10 kids and was left with excessive ugly sagging abdomen n thabks to Dr G im a different person I had some issues because of my insecurities but Dr G was sooo professional he even made a hiuse visit to attend my needs he is an excellent surgeon n I would have another procedure with my eye God bless him n his staff More

Patient Story
ReviewScraper-2016-10-07
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 05, 2016

Great Doctor and Staff - I've had Botox done twice already at this clinic and results were great. Dr. Gutowski is very knowledgeable and helpful when it comes to explaining things. The clinic is very nice and staffed with helpful people. Dr. Gutowski spent reasonable amount of time with me explaining what's best for me when I first decided to get Botox and he didn't push me to use more expensive procedures. I highly recommended his clinic. More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 17, 2016

Happy Face 40 Year Old ! :) - Chicago, IL - Dr. G is a very friendly and easy to communicate with. He wasn't pushy. Instead he takes time to listen to what you want. He gives his professional opinion and options. I wish I would've found him sooner. I wasted my time and money on another doctor, and never was happy with the results or his arrogance. Dr. G and his staff are Amazing. Talented, considerate, helpful and understanding. He is excellent and trustworthy. He definitely knows his skill very well. Oh, and unlike the other doctor who after the fillers I left looking like I was in a car accident. With Dr. G., I had various fillers, than before, and left hardly bruised. Happy I found him and his wonderful staff! More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 19, 2016

26 Years Old, 5'8", 130 Lbs, 425 Cc High Profile - Chicago, IL - A week from today I will be getting breast augmentation! I go in for my final appointment tomorrow and I picked up all of my meds at the pharmacy yesterday. I'm so nervous but excited! Right now my size is a Victoria Secret 32B. I am getting 425cc silicone, high profile, under the muscle implants with incisions under the breast. I have found Realself to be such an awesome tool in helping me decide what size/type of implant and also helping me find women with similar body types who have undergone augmentation to give me an idea of what I'm looking for! I can't wait to share the rest of my journey with you guys. More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 26, 2016

39 Year Old Getting Boobs for Her 40th. Chicago, IL - I am a 39 year old, 1 grown child, 5'6", about 145lbs, 36A..BARELY! So my Birthday gift to MYSELF is some BOOBIES!!..I always said I wanted some, and a few weeks ago i realized that I did not want to go into my 40's FLAT CHESTED. I am BEYOND TIRED of wearing PADDED BRAS, PADDED THIS, PADDED THAT...not being able to wear certain low cut, or off the shoulder tops or halter tops..its just a pain having to have my dresses altered, due to being so small up top. So I am scheduled for surgery with Dr Eckhardt on April 19th, and saying I CANT WAIT is the UNDERSTATEMENT OF THE CENTURY!! I CANT WAIT...I will have a couple of months to recover before my Birthday. So I'm hoping that all pain, tightness or discomfort will be gone by then and they have dropped and softened....size I'm going for is 375cc round silicone..I wanted to be FULL, but not too big. One, I don't really want to be OBVIOUS that I even had implants..and two, I don't want to have to buy new tops/clothes, and three, I want them to look VERY NATURAL..so that should put me at a C cup range..maybe even a SMALL D, which I don't want, BUT that all depends on where I buy my bras.( like at VS, I'd be a D For sure!)..but Full B, C range is all I really want. I go for my Preop in a week and a half, so I'll try on sizers again and then decide. I have several pics that I will show Dr Eckhart of what look I'm going for. I know the gummie bears are growing in popularity because they are the 'newest' thing, but I like the feel of silicone ALOT BETTER. And I feel that it will give me more of the natural bounce and jiggle and round shape that I want for a little cleavage without the need for a push up bra...so needless to say, I am SOOOOO EXCITED!!!!! JUMPING OUT MY SKIN, but trying to wait it out. Still have 23 days left..so don't want to drive myself CRAZY until the BIG DAY!!???? More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 31, 2013

Just LOVE them :) - Office and staff were very welcoming and helpful. I felt well taken care of and important to my Doctor. I did not feel rushed into anything and decisions were up to me. So far I do recommend them and I am hopeful that I will continue to recommend them :) More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 12, 2016

30yr Female, Arm Lift with Lipo on Arms, Back, Bra Line, Small Buffalo Hump, Abdomen and Flanks! - Chicago, IL - I'm a 30 year old female that has battled with large and saggy arms my whole life. My grandmother had them so bad, they would flap in the wind. Thanks, babciu. My weight has also frequently fluctuated throughout my life, so I do have a lot of extra skin with pockets of fat. My boyfriend and I have begun talking of wedding plans, which means now is the time to do something about this and give myself time to heal before a wedding happens.I searched for a long time for different doctors. I made consultation appointments with three and then narrowed it down to Dr. Gutowski. I was pretty nervous going into the appointment, but once I was in the appointment room, it made me feel relaxed. He was extremely easy to talk to and down to Earth. He won't try to sell you crap you don't need, either. He and his patient care coordinator, Ellen, are fabulous at keeping in touch and getting back to me with any questions or concerns. Ellen has been great at getting me accommodated with my crazy schedule and getting surgery set up for the perfect date so I can recover over my vacation. I am having multiple procedures done, so I will create a review/post for both and will keep them updated simultaneously. I will try to get photos posted as soon as possible.I know a lot of people are curious about costs of plastic surgery. I will be put under general anesthesia since I am having so much done at once, so my procedure is costing a bit more than if you were to do any of these separately under local anesthesia. Also keep in mind, the cost can fluctuate based on each customer and their exact needs. Here is the breakdown of costs:Arm Lift: $6,000 with $2,752 anesthesia feeLipo to back, bra line, hump: $3000 with $1,350 anesthesia feeLipo to abdomen and flanks: $4,000 with $1,350 anesthesia feeBecause I am having all done at the same time, because I mentioned RealSelf and because I am allowing them use of my before and after photos, it dropped the total from $18, 452 down to $15, 704. More

Patient Story
ReviewScraper-2015-09-29
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 28, 2015

Upcoming Body Lift/Circumferential Tummy Tuck, Feeling Excited! - Chicago, IL - I'm having a body lift/circumferential tummy tuck in 4 days with Dr. G. After having lost 108 lbs, I'm finally getting rid of the loose skin hanging around my abdomen and back. My final goal is to at last be able to show my full six pack(only my upper abs are visible now ), which I feel is being covered by hanging loose skin and maybe very little fat left in that area. I worked my butt off exercising and dieting for almost 3 years and I feel now is the time to finally show and be proud of the results of all my hard work.I got my prescriptions filled, a recovery area set up in my home with a recliner, books and magazines to pass the time, arnica montana , and bromelain supplements. Does anybody have any other suggestions, advice for my upcoming surgery? More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 28, 2015

Just had a Body Lift/Circumferential Tummy Tuck with Lipo Included , Feeling Excited! - Chicago, IL - I'm having a body lift/circumferential tummy tuck in 4 days with Dr. G. After having lost 108 lbs, I'm finally getting rid of the loose skin hanging around my abdomen and back. My final goal is to at last be able to show my full six pack(only my upper abs are visible now ), which I feel is being covered by hanging loose skin and maybe very little fat left in that area. I worked my butt off exercising and dieting for almost 3 years and I feel now is the time to finally show and be proud of the results of all my hard work.I got my prescriptions filled, a recovery area set up in my home with a recliner, books and magazines to pass the time, arnica montana , and bromelain supplements. Does anybody have any other suggestions, advice for my upcoming surgery? More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 28, 2015

I'm 33 and Weigh 168, 5'2 I Use to Be 220 So Had a Bit of a Weight Lose, One Daughter 14 Yrs - Chicago, IL - Well I'm I'm the works of getting a breast lift with small implants, I had a "supposely" Breast lift in 2012 but not a good job and ugly scars :(Anyway my bra size now is 36d / 36dd, I have large breast just no volume they are so flat!!! Anyway I wanna be the size I am now just higher and fluffier, I want that hump on top of my breast so my surgeon says a bl and a small implant will give me the look I want I just don't want to be any bigger I mean if it's slightly bigger it's fine I don't wanna be where they look like big ol' balloons , he's suggesting 300 cc's but I kind of feel that maybe that's too big of I'm already a d/dd I heard that 300cc's is a small B , I feel that with the bl my cup size might go down In size so I want to replace that lost size with a small implant , has anyone been close to my size and gotten this done? What were your results? Please help!!! Surgery is feb 5th More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Foursquare  |  Feb 21, 2015

Friendly and very clean facility! Ask for Dani or Michelle, they're both awesome at what they do! More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from 1.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 05, 2014

Searching in OH, Michigan, Pittsburgh and Chicago!! - I just love Dr. G, he is a very caring, considerate and very approachable person. There has never been a time that I have gotten in touch with him, whether it be by phone or email, that he did not get in touch with me, and for that I am very grateful.I would strongly reccommend him to anyone and everyone. He did not try to push anything on me that I did not need, and his prices are very reasonable,not that, that was the main issue, because health is more important....and he does offer a $1,000 off if you mention RealSelf, that's another plus!!!There is no arrogance detected, and his staff is very accomodating also.My time is fast approaching and I am very excited and I can rest well knowing that I have God first, and him second in bringing me through this....that is all for now, and I surely will be posting more on this great doctor in the near future!!!!Two thumbs up, high fives and whatever else I can give to him!!!! More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from N.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 24, 2014

5'5", 158lbs, age 29 No Kids-- Lipo: Thighs Abdomen Flanks. Chicago, IL - I had always been a chubby child and never had a flat stomach as a teen or adult. I went from a sedentary lifestyle in college to running 6 miles a day, 6 days a week while I was in law school. I got down to a shredded muscular 138, but because of my pear shape I had zero boobs. Despite my shredded physique then, I still had a small lower belly pooch and a pocket of fat on my anterior thighs (right on the top front, near the inner thigh area). These fat pockets have pretty much been my constant companions my whole life.Now that I'm working full time in a position that requires 50% travel, I have a lot less time on my hands for fitness. I still make time for running--I did the Marathon last year and a half marathon in September. In addition to the other races I've done this year, I have a 9-mile race scheduled for November 9 too. But I've gone up to 158 with a lot more fat spread to the thighs. Those fat-pocket-friends have gotten even bigger. I rarely wear pants to work as I find them too uncomfortable. The fabric bunches in my crotch area because those fat pockets push them up, and they wear out more quickly where my thighs rub together.I decided on lipo after weight training this summer. I have been trying to change my diet to more protein and fewer carbs, still maintaining enough to support my running hobby. Though I've seen some results, I want to see what my body would look like without these fat deposits. I didn't want to wait until after I had children in order to see these results either because--well--why should I postpone my life now for an uncertain future? I've talked it over with my boyfriend of two and a half years who is nervous but sweet and supportive, and I'm ready to make this investment in my appearance.Anyway, over the course of about a month, I visited 4 different plastic surgeons in the Chicago area to discuss what I wanted them to do and to get some quotes. The first 2 surgeons I visited were not really interested in taking on my thighs. It strikes me that anything other than the lateral thighs--saddlebags I guess--is too tough aesthetically to yield a solid result. I looked at scores of pictures here and other places and saw a lot of botched jobs. My thighs generally are great and I don't want to screw them up, so I looked for a surgeon who had done good-looking thigh jobs in the same areas that I really liked.I encountered one surgeon who I seriously considered, but though we had great rapport, she only wanted to give me a tiny waist--not really essential to this process. I ended up finding only one surgeon who would agree to take on my thigh job. He has great reviews, some good-looking thigh job photos for this area (which were mostly done as entire-thigh sculpting), and he seemed confident without being an @$$hole about it. He basically offered me exactly what I wanted: a better, more sculpted version of me. I don't need to look like I've had work done, just have better contour in these areas. He was realistic about what he could do and he told me I didn't need other work in other areas. No hard sell on a BBL here either (I have a nice booty that I like very much!). I told him I appreciated his honesty about his own skill and about the gimmicks of lipo as a whole. He offered me the option of local anesthetic as opposed to general, and he gave me a decent price compared to some of the other quotes I received. If you've spent any time on this site or on the internet in general, you'll notice that there aren't many Black folks who have gone under the knife or who are willing to post their stories. I'm here to do just that. I asked my doc about scarring, and he's told me that he stitches up the incision sites to avoid dark scarring around the incision areas. We'll see how that works out. I'm nervous, to be sure. I scheduled my surgery on a date that I'd previously scheduled off, and I'm set to travel for the holidays about 9 days after that. I hope that I'm healed enough to feel ok to travel and not look like I just took a beating once I get in front of my family. I plan to keep this thing updated with the hope that other people will get some use out of my story.Here goes. More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Foursquare  |  Jun 28, 2013

great med spa....highly experienced employees. Best facial ever!! More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Citysearch  |  Jan 18, 2011

Took a few years off my face! – I first saw this doctor for botox and was very happy with the results. He also referred me to his skin care person for regular facial treatments which after 3 months made my face look fresh. Since then I had an artefill injection and more botox and continue to look younger. It was nice to have a surgeon explain the surgical and nonsurgical choices to me. I recommend his practice! More

*Unless otherwise indicated, images are models. In cases where before and after pictures are shown, these are actual patients. Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person.